Backus, Ross headline Big South awards

Charlotte, NC ( – Coastal Carolina senior linebacker Quinn
Backus was named the Big South Conference Defensive Player of the Year for the
third straight season on Tuesday.

Backus, the first three-time winner of the award, was joined in top honors by
Coastal quarterback Alex Ross, the offensive player of the year.

Monmouth defensive back Mike Basile was tabbed the conference’s freshman of the
year, Liberty’s John Lunsford was voted the special teams player of the year,
and Presbyterian’s Harold Nichols and Coastal Carolina’s Joe Moglia shared
coach of the year honors.

The Big South sports information directors selected Liberty offensive lineman
Mitch Hanson as the Scholar-Athlete of the Year.



QB – Alex Ross, R-Jr., Coastal Carolina

RB – De’Angelo Henderson, R-Soph., Coastal Carolina

RB – D.J. Abnar, Jr., Liberty

WR – Darrin Peterson, Jr., Liberty

WR – Kenny Cook, R-Sr., Gardner-Webb

WR – Neal Sterling, R-Sr., Monmouth

TE – Seth Cranfill, R-Sr., Gardner-Webb

OL – Chad Hamilton, R-Sr., Coastal Carolina

OL – Kevin Hart, Sr., Coastal Carolina

OL – Clayton Truitt, Sr., Charleston Southern

OL – Jonathan Burgess, Jr., Liberty

OL – Mitch Hanson, R-Sr., Liberty


DL – Chima Uzowihe, Jr., Liberty

DL – O.J. Mau, Jr., Gardner-Webb

DL – Roderick Holder, Jr., Coastal Carolina

DL – Dominique Davis, Sr., Liberty

LB – Quinn Backus, Sr., Coastal Carolina

LB – Donelle Williams, R-Jr., Presbyterian College

LB – Aaron Cook, Soph., Gardner-Webb

LB – Aaron Brown, Jr., Charleston Southern

DB – Jacob Hagen, R-Sr., Liberty

DB – Ed Britt, Jr., Presbyterian College

DB – Pernell Williams, R-Sr., Coastal Carolina

DB – Mike Basile, Fr., Monmouth


PK – John Lunsford, Jr., Liberty

P – Trey Turner, R-Fr., Liberty

LS – Shane Ballard, R-Sr., Coastal Carolina

KR – Devin Brown, R-Soph., Coastal Carolina

PR – Darius Hammond, Soph., Charleston Southern