Williams, Crouch headline College 2015 HOF ballot

Irving, TX (SportsNetwork.com) – Former Heisman Trophy winners Ricky Williams,
Eric Crouch and Rashaan Salaam are among 75 Football Bowl Subdivision players
eligible for induction into the 2015 class of the College Football Hall of

Williams, the 1998 Heisman recipient and a two-time unanimous First-Team All-
American at the University of Texas, finished his career as the FBS all-time
leader with 6,279 rushing yards and set 46 school records during his four
seasons with the Longhorns.

Crouch captured the 2001 Heisman as a senior quarterback at Nebraska after
leading the Cornhuskers to the national title game that season. He still owns
the NCAA record for rushing touchdowns by a quarterback with 59 and led the
Huskers to a record of 42-9 with four bowl berths during his career.

Salaam took home the 1994 Heisman as a junior at Colorado, leading the nation
with a school-record 2,055 rushing yards while scoring 24 touchdowns that

A pair of Pro Football Hall of Famers, running back Eric Dickerson (SMU) and
defensive lineman Warren Sapp (Miami-Florida) are also listed on the initial
ballot, as are former NFL stars Ray Lewis (Miami-Florida), Jerome Brown
(Miami-Florida), Keith Byars (Ohio State), Randall Cunningham (UNLV), Keyshawn
Johnson (USC), Antwaan Randle El (Indiana), Zach Thomas (Texas Tech) and Andre
Tippett (Iowa).

Other notable names on the ballot included Brian Bosworth (Oklahoma), Tim
Couch (Kentucky), Raghib Ismail (Notre Dame) and former Arizona Diamondbacks
manager Kirk Gibson — an All-American wide receiver at Michigan State in

This year’s ballot also contains five ex-FBS coaches: Jim Carlen, Pete Cawthon
Sr., Danny Ford, Billy Jack Murphy and Darryl Rogers, as well as current
Kansas State coach Bill Snyder.

The 2015 College Football Hall of Fame class will be revealed on Jan. 9, three
days before the College Football Playoff national championship game in
Arlington, Texas. Induction ceremonies will take place Dec. 8, 2015 in New
York City.

Players must have been named a First-Team All American by a major outlet and
have at least 10 years since their final collegiate game to be eligible for
selection. Additionally, they must have played within the last 50 years and be
retired from professional football.

Coaches with at least 10 years and 100 games of experience can be included on
the ballot provided they won at least 60 percent of their games and have been
retired for a minimum of three years, though active coaches over 75 years old
are immediately eligible and there is no waiting period for retired coaches
over 70.